Marvellous Materials!

This term, Year One have been learning about all different kinds of materials and what they are used for. Watch the video below!

Click on the image below to find out what the different objects are made from and why.

Materials Game

On Friday 9th November, Year One went on an excursion to Bicentennial Park. We learnt about Aboriginal people and how they used natural materials to meet their needs.

Aboriginal people lived off the land.

  • They hunted animals and collected fruit, honey, eggs and plants to eat.
  • They used natural resources from the bush to make their medicines.
  • They made simple shelters made from branches and bark.
  • They made string from plants, leaves or animal fur to make ropes.
  • They made tools from wood, fish bone, plants and stones.

Take a look at our photos below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What was your favourite part of the excursion and why?

What did you learn on our excursion?

20 thoughts on “Marvellous Materials!

  1. It was a pleasant day out with students & teachers in year 1 as a helper, with flash back memory, that I once was also been taught such info…

    I have many respects for you Miss Azzopardi, the way you handle your students, I was tired by the end of day (not that I did alot) & I literally got sick with cold & flu the day after… at the end of the trip, but you still manage a great smile/composure & provide a small token to us (parent helper) as thank you for the extra hands (maybe eyes & voices too), despite a few difficulties scenario happening.. no wonder you are my son’s favorite teacher, keep up the great work Miss Azzopardi!

    Like

    • Dear Mrs Huynh,

      Thank you so very much for your beautiful comment. You have made my day! I’m so glad you enjoyed the day – it was a great excursion. It was fantastic having you there – you were a fantastic help!

      Kind regards,

      Miss Azzopardi

      Like

  2. Dear Year One,
    My favourite part of the excursion is when we saw the materials that aborigenal people use because we get to touch it.
    kind regards
    A.L E.R

    Like

  3. Dear Year One,

    My favourite part of the excursion was when we went into the wet land because it was very very fun.

    i learnt about seesons of the animals.
    Kind regards.
    C.E and L.P

    Like

  4. Dear Year One,

    Our favorite part of the excursion was when we made our braclets because there really fun to make.

    We learnt that the Aboriginal people used plants to make things.

    Kind Regards,

    S.P and N.K

    Like

  5. Dear Year One

    My favourite part of the excursion was when we got to throw the fake boomerangs
    And what I learned from my excursion was how the Aboriginals hunt with a boomerang.

    Like

  6. Dear Year One my favourite was when we got to see the trees and plants that they used
    because I got to see how they look like.

    I learnt that they live off the land.
    Kind raadrds
    E.M C.D

    Like

  7. Dear year One,my favourite part of the excursion was when I maed the bracelets.i learnt that they got bark wean they had a little cut on they hand.

    Kind regards
    S.C j.n

    Like

  8. My favourite part of the experience was when we we touched the turtle and the blue tongue llizard. I learnt how women Shaved their legs and how aboriginal people sent messages.

    Kind Regards,
    A.Vu

    Like

Leave a comment